VIATEC announced the finalists for their 2016 VIATEC Technology Awardstoday and we are proud to share that Pretio’s CEO Jim Hayhurst has been named Tech Champion of the Year! Dan Gunn, CEO of VIATEC explained, “Jim Hayhurst, CEO of Pretio Interactive, has played a key role in our community as a leader of initiatives, a spokesperson, a supporter and a role model. He understands what it takes to shape a strong and vibrant community and we are honoured to recognize him as the Tech Champion he is. I think Colin Lennox would have been very proud to see the award named after him bestowed on such a stand-up guy.”

Pretio’s Dev Leads Rob O’Dwyer and Auroa Walker are also finalists for employee of the year (two really is better than one)!

Big shout out to Ladies Learning Code who were named VIATEC Member of the year and congratulations to all of the other finalists. We are in some truly amazing company.

Here’s a list of the finalists by category:

Technology Company of the year has been split into three categories based on employee count.

Technology Company of the Year (50+ employees):
(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

  • Beanstream
  • CGI
  • Redlen Technologies
  • Schneider Electric


Technology Company of the Year (11-49 employees):
(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

  • Checkfront
  • Codename Entertainment
  • Go2mobi
  • Redbrick
  • Workday


Technology Company of the Year (1-10 employees):
(Sponsored by: Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP)

  • Flytographer
  • Revolution3D Printers
  • SilkStart


Emerging Technology Company of the Year:
(Sponsored by: KPMG LLP)

  • Crowd Content
  • EchoSec
  • Industrial Plankton
  • LlamaZOO Interactive
  • Stocksy United


Startup of the Year:
(Sponsored by: University of Victoria)

  • Craftt
  • FuturePay
  • Green Sky Labs
  • Ripebasket Technologies
  • Tellwell Talent


Product of the Year:
(Sponsored by: RBC Commercial Services)

  • Giftbit (Digital Gift Cards)
  • Codan Radio Communications (Stratus)
  • RevenueWire (Constant Content)
  • Checkfront (Online booking)
  • Codename Entertainment (Crusaders of the Lost Idols)


Innovative Excellence – Software or Service:
(Sponsored by: Grant Thornton LLP)

  • EchoSec
  • Foundry Spatial
  • Go2mobi
  • LlamaZOO Interactive
  • RaceRocks 3D


Innovative Excellence – Hardware:
(Sponsored by: Grant Thornton LLP)

  • DreamCraft Attractions
  • Holografyx
  • LimbicMedia
  • Redlen Technologies
  • Revolution3D Printers


Executive of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Corporate Recruiters)

  • Brad Williams – Redbrick
  • Brianna Wettlaufer – Stocksy United
  • Scott Dewis – RaceRocks 3D
  • Shaun Jamieson – SilkStart


Employee of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Thompson Cooper LLP)

  • Aleksey Vorona – xMatters
  • Aurora Walker and Rob O’Dwyer – Pretio Interactive
  • Matt Martin – Crowd Content


Team of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Thompson Cooper LLP)

  • Archipelago Marine Research
  • Atomic Crayon
  • org
  • HP Advanced Solutions
  • Smart Dolphins
  • StarFish Medical


Employer of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Megson FitzPatrick)

  • Carmanah Technologies
  • ChatterBlock
  • GlobalWide Media
  • RingPartner
  • Semaphore Solutions


Creative Excellence:
(Sponsored by:

  • Island Circus Space
  • Monkey C Interactive
  • Victoria Hand Project


The Colin Lennox Award for Technology Champion:
(Sponsored by: Reed Pope LLP)

  • Jim Hayhurst – Pretio Interactive


VIATEC Member of the Year:
(Sponsored by: Cox Taylor LLP)

Ladies Learning Code


Can’t wait to see you all at the awards!